Stratford-Avon’s Lindsay Franklin is the 2022 TCB-sponsored Taranaki First Year singles champion.

Franklin won the title this afternoon at Paritutu, beating West End’s Mark McDonald 21-17 in the final. The well-known Franklin, a former barber and also a competitive 8-ball pool player, he had to endure a few anxious moments against McDonald, who has previously established himself as a most competent competitor at indoor bowls.

The final was locked at 7-all, before a three, a single and a further three to Franklin gave him a handy 14-7 lead. McDonald closed to 15-13 behind, and then leveled at 17-all. However, Franklin, the son of country music legends Rex and Noelene, then claimed an invaluable three and a single to clinch the title.

Sharing third-equal were Paul Eaton and Terry Hancock, both of West End.

It was the fifth year that the First Year singles has been held.

Previous winners:

2018 Neville Nodder (Fitzroy)

2019 Todd Curtis (Tower)

2020 Amanda Crehan (Paritutu)

2021 Kerry Mullan (Tower)

2022 Lindsay Franklin (Stratford-Avon).

For full results, go to: First Year singles results